Thank You

The 9th World Congress of Herpetology has come to a close and we look forward to the next one in 2024 in Kuching, Malaysia.

The World Congress in Dunedin was one of my most memorable congresses and was organised seamlessly by Terri Lowsley, Kate Howden and their team from Conference Innovators. Many delegates remarked that it was also one the best conferences that they have ever attended. My special thanks go in particular to Debbie Bishop ("Behind every successful man there's a great woman") as she worked tirelessly behind the scenes, working on logistics, sponsorship, proof-reading, events and much, much more. I would also like to thank the Organising Committee and the Scientific Committees for all their hard work in organising, reorganising, and then reorganising the reorganisation of an amazing scientific programme. Thank you to delegates for coming all this way to New Zealand – it is a long way away but I'm sure you'll all agree it was worth it!

Lastly, thank you to all our great sponsors – again a very important component of a successful congress.
Most of our keynote addresses are available on this website (find the links under the speakers' titles on the Programme page) and then will migrate across to the WCH website. Please keep in touch and look out for our new newsletter coming out every 6 months to keep you updated about WCH business and the next WCH Congress in Malaysian Borneo.
Prof Phil Bishop
University of Otago
Conference Director


Local Organising Committee

Prof Phil Bishop, University of Otago, Conference Director
Adria Rae Abigail Eda, University of Otago, Student convenor
Debbie Bishop, University of Otago, Social convenor 
Dr Stephanie Godfrey, University of Otago, Scientific Programme convenor
Dr Fátima Jorge, University of Otago, Student convenor
Dr Jo Monks, Department of Conservation
Assoc Prof Nicola Nelson, Victoria University of Wellington     
Dr James Reardon, Department of Conservation
Prof Graham Wallis, University of Otago         
Sally Wren, University of Otago
Terri Lowsley, Conference Innovators
Kate Howden, Conference Innovators

Scientific Organising Committee

Dr Evy Arida, Indonesian Institute of Sciences
Prof Aaron Bauer, Villanova University
Dr Deborah Bower, University of New England
Assoc Prof Dave Chapple, Monash University
Dr Claudia Corti, Università Degli Studi Di Firenze
Assoc Prof Andrew Crawford, Universidad de los Andes
Prof Alison Cree, University of Otago
Dr Mathieu Denoël, University of Liege - FNRS
Dr Tiffany Doan, New College of Florida
Prof Trent Garner, Zoological Society of London
Prof Wen-san Huang, National Museum of Natural Science, Taiwan
Prof Tracy Langkilde, Pennsylvania State University
Assoc Prof David Lesbarrères, Laurentian University
Dr Anita Malhotra, Bangor University
Prof Shai Meiri, Tel Aviv University
Dr Jeanine Refsnider, University of Toledo
Dr Dennis Rödder, Zoologisches Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig
Dr Weronika Rupik, University of Silesia
Dr Ruchira Somaweera, CSIRO
Dr Moacir Tinoco, Universidade Católica do Salvador
Prof Oguz Türkozan, Adnan Menderes University
Dr Anamarija Žagar, National Institute of Biology, Slovenia


Please click here to complete a brief survey on the impact on mini-hydro power plants on biodiversity.

Contact the event manager

Terri Lowsley
Conference Innovators
T: +64 27 2468 616

  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00