logo irspm

logo irspm
logo victoria university wellington

XXIII Annual Conference of the International Research Society for Public Management

ReNewing Public Management for Stewardship, Innovation and Impact

16 - 18 April 2019, Wellington

Call for abstracts 

On behalf of the organising and scientific committees for the XXIII Annual Conference of the International Research Society for Public Management taking place 16 - 18 April 2019 in Wellington, New Zealand, we invite you to submit an abstract on the conference theme ReNewing Public Management for Stewardship, Innovation and Impact. 

We particularly welcome abstracts on this theme – but there are also a range of other panels that cover issues of importance to the public management and public administration research communities. There is also an open panel for papers that do not fit into one of the existing panels. The list and description of conference panels can be accessed below. The IRSPM 2019 conference will feature 38 panels, grouped under the following: 

  • Specific research areas proposed by panel chairs related to the conference theme (Conference Panels)
  • Special interest groups (Including a New Researcher Panel)
  • An Open Panel 

Click here to download a PDF of all the panels combined into one document. 

Please note that the abstract submission date has been extended from the 19 October to 31 October 2018. The review period extension will be until 30 November.


(P1) Advancing governance networks theory and working with social complexity

(P2) Behavioral and experimental public administration

(P3) Big-data research in public administration

(P4) Bridging public management and organization theories 

(P5) Can there be stewardship of public infrastructure assets?

(P6) Collective leadership and collaborative governance for public value co-creation

(P7) Critical perspectives in emergency services management

(P8) Design-led approaches to renewing public management and governance

(P9) Disruptive technologies: Governance, public services and regulation

(P10) Dividing government and designing public service organisations

(P11) Experimental governance 

(P12) Expertise and evidence-informed policy-making

(P13) Innovation in education and training in public management: Outcomes and impacts

(P14) Lessons from Asian public management 

(P15) Making politics visible – using interpretive methods to explore the politics involved in public sector innovation

(P16) PMRA-Sponsored panel: Management and organizational performance in comparative perspective 

(P17) Public management and civil society: Renewing and reforming relationships 

(P18) Public management and the environment: Governing for sustainability or square pegs in round holes? 

(P19) Public policy and public financial management in small island states

(P20) Public-private partnerships for infrastructure: Impact, logics and stewardship? 

(P21) Public service ethics for the 21st century

(P22) Public service innovation: The third sector, social enterprise and community initiatives 

(P23) Reforming higher education organisations: The multidimensionality of performance, and the role of accounting and control systems 

(P24) ReNewing public sector implementation: capability, accountability and "making stuff happen"

(P25) Social Impact Bonds, Social Investment and Investing for Wellbeing

(P26) Stakeholder-reported outcome measurement in health care sector

(P27) The impact of digitalization in ReNewing Public Management

(P28) The use of mixed methods in public administration: Lessons learned, future directions

(P29) Trust-based public management - towards stewardship and innovative cultural change 


(P30) Special interest group: Public sector human resource management 

(P31) Special interest group: Public service motivation

(P32) Special interest group: The practice panel: Connecting researchers and practitioners for improved outcomes

(P33) Special interest group: Healthcare management 

(P34) Special interest group: New Researchers Panel

(P35)  Special interest group: Local Governance 

(P36) Special interest group: Accounting and accountability 

(P37) Special interest group: Governing hybrid organisations


(P38) Open panel

Submission of abstracts 

Submit Abstract

If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Olivia Lynch
Conference Innovators | olivia@conference.nz
On behalf of the Organising and Scientific Committees 

Conference Co-chairs: Karl Lofgren and Michael Macaulay, Victoria University of Wellington
Local Organising Committee:  Barbara Allen, Girol Karacaoglu, Elizabeth Eppel, Lyne Todd, Lynn Barlow, Wonhyuk Cho, Flavia Donadelli

Guide for authors

Please read the panel descriptions before submitting your abstract.

Choose the panel into which your proposal best fits.  Each abstract will be considered for only one panel.

Please select the Open Panel only if your abstract is not an obvious fit for another panel or special interest group.  

New Researchers (doctoral students and researchers in the first three years of their academic careers) are strongly encouraged and invited to submit to any of the panels or special interest groups.  However the sessions dedicated to New Researchers (Special Interest Group P38) provide opportunities for extensive constructive commentary and discussion on their work with distinguished international faculty.

A Best Paper Prize is awarded every year to an early career researcher.

The abstract should be maximum 500 words (including references) and must be in English.  It should briefly identify:

  • The relevance of the paper to the topic
  • The significance of the research – why it is distinctive and its contribution to the field
  • The research question(s) and method – the theoretical/conceptual foundations for the research, and
  • The results to be reported.

Please do not email abstracts directly to the Panel chair/s.  

Submissions can only have one presenting author.

The maximum number of abstracts is 3 per person (including multi authored abstracts). We expect that each participant will only present one paper each, regardless of the number of abstracts accepted.

Other information:

Please note that in order to have your paper confirmed in the proceedings you must register.  You must be available for the duration of the conference.  Papers will be scheduled between 1330 on Tuesday 16 April and 1800 on Thursday 18 April (end at 1800).

In the Call for Papers you will be asked to provide a phone number.  This is so that the Panel Chairs can contact you during the conference in case of changes or any other issues.

Key dates 

11 September – 31 October 2018  Call for abstracts open
30 November 2018 Notification of paper proposal decisions
30 November 2018 – 19 February 2019 Early bird registration open
19 March 2019  Registration closes, papers due
16 – 18 April 2019 IRSPM 2019 Conference

Scientific committee

Chair: A/Prof Karl Lofgren, Victoria University of Wellington
A/Prof Michael Macaulay, Victoria University of Wellington
Prof Jenny Lewis, Melbourne University
A/Prof Helen Dickinson, University of New South Wales, Canberra
A/Prof Catherine Althaus, Australia New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)
A/Prof Paul Fawcett, Canberra University
Prof Yilja Jing, Fudan University
Dr Frank Ohemeng, Ottawa University
Prof Chris Ansell, University of California, Berkeley
Prof Richard Walker, City University of Hong Kong
Prof Jon Pierre, Gothenburg University/Melbourne University
Prof Albert Meyer, Utrecht University
A/Prof Anna Thomasson, Lund University
Prof Stephen Osborne, University of Edinburgh
Prof Susan Phillips, Carleton University
A/Prof Birgit Grüb-Martin, Johannes Kepler University